top of page

God met me in a Red Barn

It's been a long and hard journey.... between going through a divorce after 27 years of marriage... to losing friends who were unkind and used me...I have learned through God that I have to trust Him no matter what happens in life. Did He create all these bad things in my life? No! But He is showing me each day how to enjoy just the simple things in life.

Music has always held a special place in my 💓. And today I realized how much God uses music to speak to me.

As I entered into this Old Red Barn, I noticed it had been remodeled to be a place of rest and a comfort place for family reunions. As my eyes looked around the room, I seen an old piano begging me to sit down upon the seat and play the old sounds of it.

As I opened up the keyboard, I tinkled around....just like a kid today. And for a moment, I felt like I was praying for someone who had once played it...and who would sometime play it again.

As I sat there playing I could hear so many songs running through my mind. A new song I could here as instruments were playing in my mind. So many beautiful new songs waiting to be released upon this place we call home for now.

As I sat there and played a song, my heart cried out to release all the pain I was holding onto in my heart....the cares of this world.....and the people I have had to let go.... no matter how deeply I loved and cared for them.

While playing.....it's like my heart wanted a turn to play out all the pain harboring inside. It was the instrument in my heart that was dying to be finally heard.

As my heart played whole heatedly, the tears ran down my face like a huge waterfall that could finally be seen and heard. God was reaching down to the upmost painful areas in my heart that I had buried deep....Only God could heal my broken 💔.

As I began there to sob, I realized I started playing the keys to an old hymn..."I surrender All". To my surprise I began to sing that song and knew God was with me. His presence of acceptance of me and knowing that He too His Son had surrendered all. I knew then that all I've been through....there is a reason for it. And though right now I may not understand why...I know that God will ALWAYS be with me.


Here are the lyrics to that hymnal:

All to Jesus I surrender, All to Him I freely give; I will ever love and trust Him, In His presence daily live. Refrain: I surrender all, I surrender all, All to thee, my Blessed Savior, I surrender all. All to Jesus I surrender, Humbly at his feet I bow, Worldly pleasures all forsaken, Take me, Jesus, take me now. (Refrain) All to Jesus I surrender; Make me, Savior, wholly thine; Let me feel the Holy Spirit, Truly know that thou art mine. (Refrain) All to Jesus I surrender, Lord, I give myself to thee, Fill me with thy love and power, Let thy blessing fall on me. (Refrain) All to Jesus I surrender; Now I feel the sacred flame. Oh, the joy of full salvation! Glory, glory, to his name!

bottom of page